10 tips to rev up your workout

1. Eat one hour before your workout- To maximize your workouts you need to eat for fuel, the key is finding foods that will sustain your workouts and not make you crash and burn. Foods high  in sugar will give you instant gratification but then will make you fall short of the finish line.  Here  is a list of my favorite pre workout foods:

Morning workouts: If I have time I will whip up some steel cut oatmeal (The complex carbs give me sustained energy) and a banana( The potassium in bananas will help muscles contract) or blueberries. If I am running out the door, I will have whole wheat toast and almond butter with a banana.

Afternoon workouts: Brown rice or whole wheat pasta (Complex carbs), salmon (high in omega-3 fats and vitamin B)

Beans(Packed with protein, fiber and minerals – they give you sustained energy)

In a pinch: Almonds and yogurt.

2. Drink H2O: This sounds simple but so many of my workouts lack energy because I am dehydrated, if you work out in the morning have water before you go to sleep and again when you wake up. If you work out in the afternoon, drink water through out the day. Men on average should get 3 liters a day and women should get 2.2 liters a day.

3. Set mini goals: We all set those long term goals like, I want to lose 30 pounds or I want a to fit in my old jeans, but don’t forget the little victories t0o. Whether it is lifting 5 pounds more, shaving 30 seconds off your run or making it through an intense workout, set yourself mini goals for each workout.

4. Grab a workout partner: I have a few different people I workout with, that way I am always doing different exercises and I get motivated in different ways. Some of my friends are great runners, some are innovative in the gym and some are great at sports. Pick someone who challenges you for that workout.

5. Use some new gear: Try using a kettlebell, medicine ball, bosu ball or a physio ball in your next workout. By stimulating your mind and body in different ways you will push yourself in a little more each workout.

6. Get going out of the gate: Pick up a jump rope or hop on the treadmill for a light 5 minute run before you hit the weights. Get the music going and pump yourself up, the first few minutes of a workout can dictate how the rest will go.

7. Sleep: It is hard enough to get a good workout when you are awake, but close to impossible when you are tired. Your body heals itself during sleep and if you don’t get enough, you risk injury and definitely compromising your workouts.

8. Get some new workout clothes: I know I mentioned this before but here it is again. Working out is such a mental game and when you look pro you tend to workout a little more pro.

9. Mentally get there before you get there: It is easy to psyche yourself out before you even get to the gym, if you go there with a plan on what you are going to do and set yourself up by getting your weights and space ready, you won’t waste time in the gym and you will get a better workout.

10. Change your scenery: I have said it before and I will say it again, when you change your surroundings your workouts will improve and your body will get a better work out.

I know changing your lifstyle is not easy, I want to give you as many options as possible to make the transition easier and educate you on getting it right. One of the many things I learned in the marines is that the biggest hurdle in all physical activities is your mind, however your mind is a lot stronger than you think. If you only use one of those tips — it is a mini victory for me.   Happy workouts all!

2 Responses

  1. Pretty cool post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I have really liked browsing your posts. In any case
    I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

  2. zm7bdJ wvzofidscgpu, [url=http://gzzdrfeelfvz.com/]gzzdrfeelfvz[/url], [link=http://tssoqheymyte.com/]tssoqheymyte[/link], http://pucutiisapeh.com/

Leave a comment